Best Rated Luggage

Luggage Reviews and Recommendations

Review of Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 Carry-On Expandable Spinner Suiter Suitcase, 21-in.

  • Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 21" Expandable Spinner
  • Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 Carry On Expandable Spinner Suiter Suitcase, 21 in , Black S
  • Travelpro Platinum Magna 21" Spinner – LuggageBase.com
  • Travelpro Travelpro Platinum Magna 21" Expandable Spinner Suiter SKU:#8198506
  • Pack & Review | Travelpro Platinum Magna 20" Business Plus Rollaboard Carry On
  • The Fashionable yet Ruggedly Constructed Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 Expandable Spinner Luggage – 21"
  • Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 Carry on Spinner Suitcase, is it worth $600 retail?
  • Travelpro Crew 9 21in Expandable Spinner Suiter Carry On – L
  • Behind the scenes at Travelpro luggage lab
  • Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 22" Expandable Rollaboard
«
»
Rating: 
Amazon Price: $234.99 $249.90 You save: $1.91 (1%). (as of December 11, 2018 10:25 pm – Details). Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on the Amazon site at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

The epitome of style, Travelpro Platinum Magna 2 luxury performance luggage is crafted with premium, ultra-durable fabrics and intelligent design innovations, making it ideal for frequent business travel and personal trips. This expandable suit bag features eight MagnaTrac self-aligning wheels that provide effortless 360-degree rolling whether you’re arriving or departing and can be expanded incrementally up to two inches to maximize storage. The upright suitcase also features a patented telescoping handle that extends to three lengths: 38-in., 40-in., and 42.5-in. Other features include a cushioned Contour Grip for comfort and control, damage-resistant SUPRA zipper heads, a removable garment sleeve to keep clothes wrinkle-free, and a deluxe tie-down system with built-in accessory pockets to keep your clothing, shoes, and personal items neat and organized. The high-quality ballistic nylon fabric features DuraGuard coating to help protect against stains and abrasions due to airline handling. This carry-on bag has been tested and will fit in overhead bins on most major US airlines (may not meet airline carry-on restrictions when fully expanded). Backed by the Travelpro comprehensive warranty, you can travel worry-free knowing you’re protected against airline damage and defects in materials and workmanship for the life of the bag. Exterior: 100% nylon. Lining: 100% polyester. Imported.

Customer Reviews

I travel frequently and have been a loyal Travelpro customer …

 on January 3, 2018
By David
I travel frequently and have been a loyal Travelpro customer for 20 years. I bought 2 of these recently and returned 1 straightaway as it was missing a zipper pull. I now have 3 trips on the other and now this other bag is also missing a zipper pull. Came off in flight somewhere during luggage handling (I bag check). Have to say I have little confidence in the quality of the brand now and notice that fewer flight attendants use this bag compared to several years ago. I assume that it is the same quality issue. I will be moving on to other brand luggage.

Magna 2 System is best in class but comes with cost of space

 on October 12, 2017
By chris
Made the decision to move from my existing Tumi two wheel carryon to the TP Platinum Spinner after having a great experience with the 25″ version. Come to realize that to be a mistake. The 21 loses to much interior space due to the spinner feature. Hard to believe but I travel 100K miles annually and have never had a bag checked at gate due to size. Figures that this one was challenged by American since is was so stuffed.

The best carry on I’ve tried

 on February 13, 2018
By KB
I bought this bag as a replacement when the handle stopped extending on my previous carry on after about 2 years. I travel decently often (25-30 trips a year) so I was looking for something that would hold up well. The quality of this is spot on, feels much more durable than my previous (also known name brand) bag. The space inside is great, and it comes with a garment bag if you need it. The extra pockets are spacious, not just flat, but they do lay flat if you aren’t using them. I prefer the 4 wheels, as it’s easier on my arms going through airports, but it does mean slightly less space inside the suitcase, which I was ok with. Even though the wheels stick out they are durable and stand up to throwing the bag in the overhead compartment or when I’ve had to check. And the handle, which was the problem with my old bag is much more sturdy – it doesn’t slide around when it’s extended. Also, I just love the look of this! 🙂 Granted, I’ve only used it for a couple months, so I can’t comment on long-term use, but with the warranty, I’m hopeful.

Impressive Luggage!

 on February 12, 2018
By Harlan Barcus
We purchased two of these suitcases for a recent trip to Costa Rica, and I am impressed by them! First, it is amazing the amount of stuff you can pack into one of them. We were able to pack two weeks of clothes and snorkeling gear! Next, the wheels are top-notch and allow the bags to roll over even cobblestones. The ergonomics of the handle is good, allowing easy push or pull. And the quality of the material and construction is very good. No question this is the best quality luggage we’ve ever had.

although still better than other brands out there

 on December 6, 2015
By Canarian
Wheels are not as magical as the manufacturer will want you to believe. They have a tendency to keep shifting positions, although still better than other brands out there. Another con, a luggage this pricey should come with a TSA-compliant lock built-in to the frame. Instead, they’ll send you a three-number padlock a few weeks after you send your registration form.

Great carryon for Southwest

 on January 3, 2018
By morph
I love this bag. I fly Southwest regularly, and the fit is perfect in the overhead bin. This bag has the best rollers I’ve ever owned. I almost wasted my money on another Tumi—my old one had been repaired twice as the top handle kept detaching. This one looks much sturdier.

Amazing

 on October 1, 2016
By Mr. Lu
Best. Luggage. Ever.

Wobbles like R2D2

 on April 5, 2018
By zx5000
I bought two of these for a trip to Europe and the wheels on one were immediately wobbly. The other case also began wobbling before the trip was over. We have all seen the commercial with gorillas throwing suitcases and the assumption that baggage handlers treat our things harshly BUT at $240 each these should be built to endure the torture any airline can throw at it. Also the zippers don’t seem too durable either.

I just used it for the first time and I loved it! It moves and glides so effortlessly and …

 on November 20, 2017
By Shatzi
I was a little worried about this bag because it is heavier than my last bag and also a little smaller on the inside. However, I just used it for the first time and I loved it! It moves and glides so effortlessly and is so well balanced. Plus, it is a really elegant looking case. I’m very happy with it.

Very pleased

 on November 6, 2015
By Greg P
Well built piece of luggage. What sealed the deal for me was the lifetime warranty, including damage by the airlines.

You might also like these...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.